The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Need help with a Nightblade Stamina Tank build

Zach2322
Zach2322
✭✭✭
Hi, I'm looking to get into tanking as a Nightblade. I have tried different sap tank builds and have not liked them. I'm a vet 16 Argonian with 272 CP on the NA Xbox server. From what I see in the PTS Patch for PC/Mac, heavy armor looks like it will be great to use not just for tanking, but also for some DPS. Can I have some help brainstorming up a build to use. If you can suggest any sets, craftable or dropped, bar setups, and CP setups. I'll try to respond back ask quickly as possible.
  • Cryptical
    Cryptical
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'm also on xb na, and am shifting my v14 cat nightblade to tanking. After looking at these builds that get posted with all these specific gear requirements and exacting skill demands, I'm going with the basics. A tank is supposed to be the lump that all the mobs poke. That's the fundamental role - to be the center of attention, to be the red cape that the bull charges, to be the worm on the fish hook.

Start with that as your goal, to be the red X that all the mobs beat on while still surviving. Now add things that will support that goal. I'm going with 5 heavy 1 of each of the others, for as much base armor as possible while activating the beneficial passives from the medium and light armor lines - because reduction in the cost of abilities and increases in regen / effectiveness means I have the juice to do my job properly. At the moment I'm wearing 5 lamae set and 4 hist bark. Comparing the increased dodge *chance* while block from hist bark to the definite counter-damage that happens from the lamae set, it seemed that the lamae could be more worthwhile because of that reliability... But I'm not done testing that yet, so it's not nailed down.