The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 15:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – April 16, 8:00AM EDT (12:00 UTC) - 6:00PM EDT (22:00 UTC)

Developer seeking feedback for potential of market value tracking app

Narkoleptika
Narkoleptika
Soul Shriven
Hello, I'm a web developer. Something I've noticed that seems to be lacking in ESO is information on the prices of things.

I've joined a trading guild but maybe I didn't join a good one? I was able to get a little info on how much a few things cost, but the guild store doesn't really seem to be very active. I'm still largely in the dark with respect to the items I'd like to sell, their value, and whether they're even worth selling.

Now I imagine I can just suck it up and play long enough to figure it out through trial and error. But that's not ideal. It's 2016, if I Google the thing I should be able to find the thing.

So I was thinking, I can make make the internet do stuff. Why not make an item market value tracking app? I used to play RS and I really liked the ability in that game to go look at the current price for any item in the GE. BTW I am only talking about the website bit of the GE that tracked prices. Not the in game part that killed player trading.

I realize the challenge in making an item value tracker for eso because of all the player crafted items and leveled versions of the same items, etc etc. But I think it can be done. What I have in mind is pretty straightforward. Users submit items or edit existing items with how much they're worth. And when you search for items you get an average price. It would have to be user run since I don't believe there's any way to pull market info directly from ESO.

So my questions are