Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Quickslots and a 360 controller

AliceSinful
AliceSinful
Soul Shriven
So first I need to say I’m new to PC gaming and MMOs but not to the Elder Scrolls world, having played on Xbox for years. I decided to upgrade to ESO on a PC and since I’m useless with a keyboard, I’m using a 360 controller. That helps a lot and I’m getting the hang of it, but I have serious issues with the quickslots, specifically healing potions.

I have no trouble assigning a potion to a quickslot, that is simple. Actually using it is the problem. Here’s what happens:

1. Sip of Health is quickslotted to Dpad Up. In a battle, there is suddenly no potion there and I never touched the Dpad at all. Empty quickslot. I die.
2. I have 15 Sip of Health potions and they’re quickslotted to Dpad Up. I actually manage to use 1 in a battle. The quickslot is now empty and I have to re-assign the remaining 14 potions to Dpad Up. Why don’t I now have 14 Sip of Health potions waiting to be used at Dpad Up? Is this normal or a glitch? Because I can’t believe it was designed that way. I die.
3. I can’t assign a Sip of Health to more than 1 quickslot. I can assign 15 Sips of Health to Dpad Up (though really, it’s only 1, see #2 above), but I can’t put a Sip of Health at Dpad Up and at Down. If I’m lucky, I get 1 Sip of Health per battle and that’s it. Most of the time, the quickslot is empty anyway, see #1. I die.
4. Since I’m a noob, I only have Sip and Tincture of Health available. So at most, I can have 2 health potions in quickslots, and that’s it. It doesn’t matter since they’re always empty anyway. I die.