Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 30:
• [IN PROGRESS] PC/Mac: NA and EU megaservers for maintenance – September 30, 4:00AM EDT (8:00 UTC) - 8:00AM EDT (12:00 UTC)
• Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – October 2, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – October 2, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Is there a best class for specific roles?

Bigevilpeter
Bigevilpeter
✭✭✭✭✭
✭✭
I am relatively new to this game and I want to know at high level play are there best classes for each role i.e (healing/tanking damage).

Based on just my logic I would say:

Best AOE DPS: Sorcerer
Best Single target DPS: Nightblade
Best Healer: Templar
Best Tank: Dragon knight

However I want to know if that's true or if lets say a templar and a sorcerer were both built correctly for dps they can do similar damage?

• MerkzM8
    MerkzM8
    ✭✭✭
    Pretty much every class can do every role, some better than others. But you could have a Nightblade Tank or a DPS Templar, it all depends on play style and what your prefer yourself. Supprisingly Templar is probably the best class for Single Target DPS.
    "What is better, to be born good, or to overcome your evil nature through great effort?" - Paarthurnax
  • AlnilamE
    AlnilamE
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Each class can play each role, they just have a slightly different approach.

I know that your logic follows the default each class, which is why it always amuses me when I'm healing a dungeon on my sorc and the rest of the group is made up of Templars. :-P

I have not tried tanking on a sorc or an NB, but I've had both tank in groups I've been in and it works out quite well.
    The Moot Councillor
  • Usara
    Usara
    ✭✭✭✭
    Templar is not the best single target DD.