The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• [COMPLETE] PC/Mac: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 22, 4:00AM EDT (08:00 UTC) - 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC)
• Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

I'm just starting out and need tips.

Juicymoose
Juicymoose
Soul Shriven
I just made my account and got the game downloaded today. I have started 1 character and I'm not sure if I want to keep it or not (only level 6) and I'm not sure how to start out strong. I'm used to elder scrolls games where I am very weak starting out but I usually just put in cheat codes. I guess my questions are, should I focus more on making my first character strong as possible in combat when I start out and ignore the crafting system, or vice versa? Also should I be looking for a guild this early in my game?
  • Sharee
    Sharee
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Make sure you go to the starting area (the so-called 'starting islands'where mobs are level 4). It will make your life easier. You get there by taking a quest from an NPC very close to where you appear in the world after completing the coldharbor prison tutorial.

Take the crafting, it is worth the couple of skillpoints. Keep yourself well-equipped with self-made items, also makes life easier.

Make sure to buy one skill from each of the three skill lines of your class and have those skills on your quickbar. It causes all three of those skill lines to gain experience(even if you don't actively use that skill, its enough to have it slotted).