The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• [COMPLETE] Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• [COMPLETE] PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

New, looking for a ranged build

S_Ravenlock
S_Ravenlock
✭✭✭
I'm new to the game, and I'm wondering what my options are for a (preferably mage) ranged character. I want to DPS, not heal or tank. I'd prefer to use a destruction staff at a range. I hate the Restoration staff, I can't use it at all. I'd be open to using a bow, but I really prefer casting.
I've been doing a bit of reading and play-testing, and these are my findings so far.

Sorcerer: I love pet-classes in most MMOs, but this is utterly broken. Neither Y nor Tab+Y works to send in the pet first, and tanking in a robe is not good for my health. From what I understand there's a patch on the way, so I'll wait until then. It's a shame, because a mage pet-class would be a perfect fit for me.

Dragon Knight: Seems to have a good synergy with the destruction staff, but most class abilities are close range which I really don't like. I prefer to stay at a range with melee as a last resort backup. I'm also not fond of the look of a lot of the spell animations. From reading up on the classes this is the OP/FotM class and should do a newbie who's still learning the game quite well, but I'm just not feeling it.

I haven't tried the nightblade yet, but nothing in that archetype really appeals to me.

Templar: Here's where I get stuck. I love the templar. I love the class flavor, skill, and animations. I love the self-heals.