The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 29:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – April 29

Info / Addon request - fade UI elements based on combat state

Awdwyn
Awdwyn
✭✭✭
Hi all, I'm completely new to lua, but have programming experience in other languages so I can generally get the jist of things if I have a good starting point.

I'd like to be able to fade (animate transition the opacity to 0) certain UI elements in combat, and then return them to default opacity out of combat, for example:
  • Wykkyd's quest tracker
  • Vampire status addon (adds a small icon and text indicator of stage)
  • Default compass

I'm happy to modify lua files for the two addons for my own use (and then provide my files to the authors in the event they want to implement the features themselves) however I believe I'd need to write (or somebody else could) a small addon to hide the compass in combat.

I know addons can track combat state (addons can auto sheathe weapons when combat ends) and modify the properties of UI elements (azurah) but as I'm unfamiliar with lua I'm not sure where to start here.

Any advice or help on where to start learning would be appreciated, or if somebody wants to tackle this idea that'd be great too.

Cheers!
  • Garkin
    Garkin
    ✭✭✭
    How to track combat state:
    local function OnCombatState(eventCode, inCombat)
       if inCombat then
          COMPASS_FRAME_FRAGMENT:Hide(1000)
       else
          COMPASS_FRAME_FRAGMENT:Show(1000)
       end
    end

EVENT_MANAGER:RegisterForEvent("SomeUniqueName", EVENT_PLAYER_COMBAT_STATE, OnCombatState)