Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

What role would you call this a CC or crowd control?

Resipsa131
Resipsa131
✭✭✭
I've never played a MMO, I wanted to get this game because I love TES so its definitely a new experience. I've been leveling at a slow pace and only leveling things I'm going to use like going full 7/0/0/ with light armor. My Slots are Dark Mage with the Dark magic Ultimate & Soul Magic and that's it although I may add a spell from the Mage's guild line to fill out my slots. I plan on running a stun/root/knockdown character that basically chains stuns. When people ask what kind of role I play what do I tell them other than complete noob? Do I say CC, will they know what that is? Like I've said I've never played a MMO so I have no idea about what group expectations are going to be.
  • Hawke
    Hawke
    ✭✭✭✭
    In PnP Crowd Control, or the Controller is by far the most powerful role.

Other games like DCUO and CoH, had controller roles.

This game does not have a specific role. Namely that most bosses are completely immune to knockbacks, roots, holds, disorientates, etc.
  • Resipsa131
    Resipsa131
    ✭✭✭
    So putting points into the destruction staff would be a good idea or another sorcery line?
  • Hawke
    Hawke
    ✭✭✭✭
    I believe you should play how you want. Basically the game is worried about 3 primary roles. Damage, Tanking and Healing. So if you aren't tanking, you are probably Damage.
  • BlackSparrow
    BlackSparrow
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yep, "cc" is a pretty well known term, at least among MMO veterans. Other newer players may not understand, so spelling it out as "crowd control" would also work.

Two notes, though: