Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

Problems with Aggro/Threat/Hate

korwinthale
korwinthale
✭✭✭
Not sure if this has been posted but Threat in this game seems non existent. anyone else noticed this? I've been tanking in MMOs for like what 15 years now.. so I have a pretty good understanding of how it should work. My issue is when I am tanking for a group now it seems no matter how much damage I do or how many times I hit the enemy They just run about randomly in a huge Free for all *** doing terrible things to the healer....
This is not an effective dungeon system. Also when the healer runs to me for safety and I hit the mob with my "taunt" ability it turns hits me once then charges off merrily at another random target... I feel that this leads to situations like I had last night where I was tanking spindleclutch for some lower level guildies .. I was level 22 they were all 12ish So I know for a fact I was generating the most damage... and yet I could hold aggro on nothing save maybe 3 or 4 mobs per pull then I spent the rest of my time madly chasing enemies... This is also with the players in my group playing intelligently and waiting to attack or heal what have you. This doesn't feel fun to me. I don't like mad free for all combat in dungeons... How do you expect clothy characters to survive getting one shotted by mobs because there is no reliable way to hold threat... am I missing something? Is there some magic threat stance I dont know about ? Ideas guys? I would like to hear from tanks in particular.
Edited by korwinthale on April 4, 2014 5:41PM
"Still, we have to keep trying and hoping. That's what's important--the trying and the hoping. Maybe that's most important of all."
  • SirAndy
    SirAndy
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭