The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

counterfeit pardons

ReachDaBeach
I am really new to the game. I accidentally did murder when following a direction pointer to get to the next section of a quest and ran through some spirits that caught up with me when I got into a camp of innocents. In killing the spirits that attacked me, I accidentally cut down one or two of the bystanders. Others witnessed, so I was declared kill on sight. I was at lv 13 and had noticed that counterfeit pardons were on the list of things I would receive at lv 14, so I went to a zombie grinding trail, got to lv 14 and used a pardon. then I went back into a town and was aimmediately killed by a guard and the bounty taken from my inventory.
What does a pardon do? I thought it was to clear up this very thing.
  • Lucifer_Sam
    Lucifer_Sam
    ✭✭
    The blue counterfeit pardons only remove 500 points of heat from you. I would bet you probably had a lot more heat on you than 500 at the time you used it.
  • blktauna
    blktauna
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Honestly I just destroy these things. I've never used one once in 4 years.
    PCNA
    PCEU
  • Jaimeh
    Jaimeh
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    It removes 500 worth of your Bounty on use, and also clears all Heat. You can also use these back to back, if you have a bounty higher than 500 and want to clear it all. There's also a purple version, called Leniency Edict that removes 2,000 worth of your Bounty on use, and also clears all Heat. I find them pretty useful even though I don't do a lot of Justice activities, because for eg., some daily endeavours include 'steal x items from the environment', so if I accidentally get caught during those, I use the edicts to clear bounty so I won't get picked by the guards.
  • ReachDaBeach
    blktauna wrote: »