The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of May 6:
· [COMPLETE] Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for maintenance – May 8, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC)
· [COMPLETE] PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for maintenance – May 8, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC)

how to get rid of the "unknown" in the traits?

Hydra32
Hydra32
Soul Shriven

Soul Shriven
Hey,
I'm new to ESO so I don't really understand how to get the traits to research. I have watched various videos etc. and seen that you have to start early. Unfortunately, I don't know how to get rid of the "unknown" in the traits so that I can research them at all.
Edited by ZOS_Icy on November 18, 2022 6:43PM
  • DocFrost72
    DocFrost72
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭
    Hydra32 wrote: »
    Soul Shriven
    Hey,
    I'm new to ESO so I don't really understand how to get the traits to research. I have watched various videos etc. and seen that you have to start early. Unfortunately, I don't know how to get rid of the "unknown" in the traits so that I can research them at all.

You have to have an item with the trait you want to research. Once you have that, you go to the corresponding work station (woodworking for a bow or staff, blacksmithing for a heavy armor piece or metal weapon, etc etc). From there, you can go to the research tab and select the piece of gear you have with the trait you want to research.

This will consume the item in your inventory, but after a graded amount of time (based on how many things for that specific item you know) you'll be able to craft the trait.

Hope this helps, and welcome to Tamriel!
    Options
  • Grizzbeorn
    Grizzbeorn
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    The traits are found on equipment (weapons, armor, and jewelry) that you find in the game.