Maintenance for the week of March 4:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – March 4
• ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 4, 8:00AM EST (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EST (17:00 UTC)
• NA megaservers for maintenance – March 6, 12:00AM EST (5:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EST (17:00 UTC)
• EU megaservers for maintenance – March 6, 5:00 UTC (12:00AM EST) - 17:00 UTC (12:00PM EST)
• ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 6, 12:00AM EST (5:00 UTC) - 6:00PM EST (23:00 UTC)

In which order should I play the expansion/DLC zones?

I have finished the main story content for each alliance, now going to start with the DLCs and other additional zones like Craglorn/Elsweyr, etc.

However, I want to play them in chronological order. For example, I know that the events in Morrowind happen before Summerset as we are supposed to re-encounter some of the Morrowind NPCs and there is a continuation to their storylines, so I would play Morrowind before Summerset. I also realize that some chapters may be completely independent of the former zones and in my case can be played in any order, I would also like to know which chapters that would be. Can someone who is into the lore give me a timeline for all the expansion/DLC zones?
Edited by ZOS_Hadeostry on July 25, 2022 1:33AM
  • SpaPooP
    Don't know if it's posted somewhere here but this is on ESOReddit:

    ESO's Beginner's Guide for Story Purpose (v4) by Bengamey_974 -

    ESO Content Timeline - High Isle Update 8.0 (and beyond) by Theyn_Tundris -
  • Carcamongus
    The order in which new zones were released is as follows (hopefully my memory will stand firm!): Craglorn, Imperial City, Orsinium (Wrothgar), Thieves Guild (Hew's Bane), Dark Brotherhood (Gold Coast), Morrowind (Vvardenfell), Clockwork City, Summerset, Murkmire, (Northern) Elsweyr, Dragonhold (Southern Elsweyr), Greymoor (Western Skyrim), Markarth (Reach), Blackwood, Deadlands and, finally, High Isle.
    Imperial DK and Necro tank. PC/NA
    "Nothing is so bad that it can't get any worse." (Brazilian saying)
  • Thormar
    Google search "uesp eso quests"
    and take it from there.
    Happy questing.
    What if I go north? Disappear.
    Would you come after me?
  • Nestor
    Edited by Nestor on July 24, 2022 11:05AM
    Enjoy the game, life is what you really want to be worried about.

    PakKat "Everything was going well, until I died"
    Gary Gravestink "I am glad you died, I needed the help"

  • Zodiarkslayer
    Do it Z to A. Or A to Z. Doesn't matter. All content is playable in any order. All quests are written in a way, that this is possible.

    And you are not missing out on any content if you skip something and return later.

    However, two tipps. First, there are quest lines that get continued in reference, but are still standalone. Completing both sometimes unlocks additional content. Use to learn which.
    Second, most zone quest lines have an endquest, where much more people will be present, if you finished all sidequests in the respective zone first. If you are a quester/roleplayer that might be important to you.
    read, think and write.In that order.
  • ZOS_Hadeostry

    After further review we have decided to move this thread to a category we think is more appropriate for this topic.

    Thank you for your understanding
    Staff Post
  • SerasWhip
    All the answers have been very helpful, thanks everyone.
Sign In or Register to comment.