Update 43 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of July 22:
• [COMPLETE] PC/Mac: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – July 22, 4:00AM EDT (8:00 UTC) - 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC)
• Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – July 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – July 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) – 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

"Card cost" is misleading once in your deck/hand

rabb1t_ESO
rabb1t_ESO
✭✭✭
I've played maybe half a dozen digital CCGs over the years. I think there is a bit of ambiguity which may be VERY confusing to players like me.

In the tavern there is a "card cost" at the top of the card in order to purchase it. This makes sense. This is fine.

n4dj604saa5b.png

However, once it's in your deck/hand it RETAINS this cost at the top. To someone used to other CCGs "to play" might be inferred. I was avoiding using cards in my hand unless I also had the "card cost". I started playing them and noticed they didn't seem to require gold to play from hand.

So, yes, technically the card is correct in that the "cost" is only associated when getting it from the tavern. But someone MAY assume it's also to play from hand.

Suggestion; Remove the card cost from the card once it's in your deck.

I suppose the tool tip could also be changed to "card cost to purchase from the tavern", but honestly removing it once it's in a player/opponent's deck would completely remove any potential for confusion.
Edited by rabb1t_ESO on June 7, 2022 4:40PM
  • sharquez
    sharquez
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    there are actions that take the cards cost into account when using them to gain power and prestige so its also there to reference for those actions
    Options
  • rabb1t_ESO
    rabb1t_ESO
    ✭✭✭
    sharquez wrote: »
    there are actions that take the cards cost into account when using them to gain power and prestige so its also there to reference for those actions

    Hum. I guess maybe I'm not familiar with those. I guess just change it so it doesn't look the same then? And add "to purchase from the tavern?"

    Again, when I started playing I assumed those were costs to play from hand, so I was avoiding using those. If I hadn't have noticed I could play them even without the gold I probably would still be playing like that.
    Options
  • Kelinmiriel
    Kelinmiriel
    ✭✭✭✭
    Perhaps the term "value" would be more accurate, as its meaning is a one-time purchase cost, and the worth of the card.

    Check out the Grandmaster Delmene Hlaalu patron for one reason that number has to be there, and what it can be used for:

    "Sacrifice 1 card you own in play that cost 1 or more Coin: Gain Prestige equal to that card's cost minus 1."

    It also gains the favor of the patron if it was neutral, or turns it to neutral if it was unfavored.

    Re-written with "value", that would be:

    "Sacrifice 1 card you own in play that has a value of 1 or more Coin: Gain Prestige equal to that card's value minus 1."

    Though remember, anything they do these days has to be translated into a number of other languages. I don't even remember how many - just that they added Russian last year, and Spanish this year. So it must be pretty complicated to get rules of a game like this fine-tuned to avoid ambiguity.

    Personally, I'm just really glad they started using "coin" instead of "gold" like it was when it first came out on the PTS. Now THAT was confusing.
    Event Tracker addon (PC NA/EU)
    Helps you keep track of your Event Tickets, so you don't miss any. Double XP on events is PASSIVE now!!
    Options
  • rabb1t_ESO
    rabb1t_ESO
    ✭✭✭
    Hummm... that might work. Though I think, and this would be difficult in terms of a UI change compared to text, changing the emblem so it's distinct from how it appears in the tavern row would help. I guess it could just be grayed out or something in deck/hand.

    Something should be different IMO. I'm sure I'm not the only one who will be confused and assume it's a 'play cost' once you own it.
    Options
Sign In or Register to comment.