The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• PC/Mac: NA megaserver for maintenance – April 25, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 2:00PM EDT (18:00 UTC)
https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/comment/8098811/#Comment_8098811

Should a brand new player learn the game solo or play with a group/groups?

RachelTheElf
Hi I wasn't sure whether to post this here or in looking for groups so apologies if this is in the wrong place. I'm brand new to ESO (currently level 16) figuring out the skills, crafting, gear etc. I tried the group finder and I got completely lost and overwhelmed trying to keep up with everyone and keep them healed. So is it a better idea to get comfortable with everything first before jumping into a group again or do I just need to get used to the fast pace?

Best Answer

• etchedpixels
    etchedpixels
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    IMHO:
    - If you like wandering around wondering what the hell is going on and enjoying the story and trying to work things out then I'd play solo until you hit CP160 or so
    - If you are more interested in mastering group challenges, trading, and the like and don't mind sacrificing some of the mystery then join some guilds.

Too many toons not enough time
    Answer ✓
  • JKorr
    JKorr
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭
    First, welcome to the game. Second, take your time. There is no need to rush anything. Getting used to your character at first since this sounds like your first character is a good idea. Learning the game and leveling will help with the "keeping up with the group" thing.

Find a good guild that doesn't mind questions; usually there are helpful crafters too. Training gear, level appropriate food, enchants and stuff can make life easier. Crafted set gear can be helpful as well.
  • RachelTheElf