The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 29:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – April 29

Other people's addons?

marlonbrando
marlonbrando
✭✭✭
My guild is convinced that one of the biggest problems with PVP on Gray Host is the addons that some ball groups use to coordinate. We think that possibly the server could get overloaded with things like "map pings" or event notifications when engaging with an enemy group which coordinates with addons like "RDK Group Tool". The negative effects that we see are crashing, inability to use abilities, inability to drink a potion, and inability to break free.

I'm an addon developer myself so I know that it's at least within the realm of possibility that this could be a factor but it's not entirely clear to me how it could be an isolated event, i.e., if there's a ball group engaging players in Blue Road Keep, then those players will experience lag but the players in Glademist likely won't notice it. What would locality have to do with the issue?

I was wondering if console users see extreme lag when they engage with a ball group. Lag meaning, you can't fire your abilities, drink potions, or break free. Are ball groups even a thing on the consoles?
  • Kwoung
    Kwoung
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    Pretty much everyone who PVP's uses RDK, it is basically the defacto standard in Cyrodill, not limited to ball groups by a long shot. In fact, it is probably used more by solo, pug & zerg players, as it tells you where the action is.
  • Ranger209
    Ranger209
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Kwoung wrote: »
    Pretty much everyone who PVP's uses RDK, it is basically the defacto standard in Cyrodill, not limited to ball groups by a long shot. In fact, it is probably used more by solo, pug & zerg players, as it tells you where the action is.