The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Why the 12 man group cap in Cyrodiil is bad for the game

mielyn
mielyn
✭✭✭
I’ve been participating in Cyrodiil PVP for many years. During that time, I’ve been in several mid to high tier PVP raid guilds, and also spent plenty of time joining up with PUG groups and small teams.

Up until recently, the cap on group sizes was 24. To me, this was a perfect number. MOST organized groups that I've seen run around in Cyrodiil tend to run somewhere between 15 and 20 people. Now, with the size reduced to 12, those groups are a thing of the past. And this is having a negative impact on GUILDS.

To me, GUILDS are the CORE of any MMO. It's what makes the community. If you think zone chat is "community chat", I invite you to spend 30 minutes reading the zone chat in Cyrodiil. There is very little "community" about it. But the effect the 12 man cap has on guilds is that it is very easy for guild members to be excluded from the fun of Cyrodiil PVP. If you have 16 players who regularly raid together... now you've got either two teams of 8, or a 12 man and a 4 man. The 4 man team, trying to run around with the 12 man, is going to get butchered. Not enough healing possible in such a small group, to counter the massive damage from many 12 man group stacks you come up against. So this is very bad for guild morale, in my opinion.