The issue is resolved, and the North American PC/Mac megaserver is now available. Thank you for your patience!
Maintenance for the week of April 15:
• [IN PROGRESS] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – April 16, 8:00AM EDT (12:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

ESO losing out by not going cross-platform?

• xmaveri
    xmaveri
    ✭✭✭
    Could they not implicate server meshing with object container streaming kinda like what star citizen is trying to implement? I understand having one mega server for all platforms is only going to spell disaster but being able to link several servers together by communicating with each other may be a easier but still complicated solution. I understand star citizen doesn't even have thank tech working but considering the resources that ESO has surely they could come up with something similar. Then again I'm not a game developer nor do I try to pretend to be one.
  • Goregrinder
    Goregrinder
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    xmaveri wrote: »
    Could they not implicate server meshing with object container streaming kinda like what star citizen is trying to implement? I understand having one mega server for all platforms is only going to spell disaster but being able to link several servers together by communicating with each other may be a easier but still complicated solution. I understand star citizen doesn't even have thank tech working but considering the resources that ESO has surely they could come up with something similar. Then again I'm not a game developer nor do I try to pretend to be one.

With ZOS's current man power and budget? No way.
  • JKorr
    JKorr
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭
    This game wasn't even originally intended for consoles at all. It was supposed to be a pc exclusive. Then Sony got pushy, and ZOS caved.

From the article he made it sound like there are hundreds of cross platform games out. There apparently are not.
    https://www.digitaltrends.com/gaming/all-cross-platform-games/