The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Beginner crafting questions

dzebas
dzebas
Hi,

I'm totally new to this game and read in some guide on this forum that it's worth crafting your own gear while levelling up. Currently I'm almost level 15, but still have bits of level 5-7 on my character.

I've unlocked crafting, but one thing I don't understand - how to craft green or blue items? It allows me to select gear level up to 14, but looks like only white is possible to craft?
Also, regarding jute - what is the best way to get it, to me seems like running around the world and picking them could be a hard task?

Thanks in advance.
  • Beamer_Miasma
    Beamer_Miasma
    ✭✭✭
    Switch to the upgrade tab, it's the fourth from the left, to the right of the decon tab (refine-create-decon-upgrade-...).

You can either harvest jute yourself or buy it from other players, there's no NPC vendor for it. There's a passive in each trade skill that will make the harvest nodes light up when you are within 20/30/40 meter of it, that can help finding them.
  • dzebas
    dzebas
    Awesome, thank you!

So basically you always craft white and then go trough upgrade process?
  • qbit
    qbit
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Not going to speak to whether it’s worth crafting gear as you level up. Honestly I think you’re better off just accumulating materials assuming you’re an ESO+ subscriber. Rather than wasting mats on crafting. I also think you might want to wait to refine mats until you have passive that give you better yield of rare mats when you refine raw mats But I’m not an expert.