Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

Differences: Dragonknight & Nightblade

xDrac
xDrac
Hey, I am new to ESO and am curious what are the fundamental differences between a Dragonknight and a Nightblade and which do you figure (if any) would have an edge in PvP or are they on equal footing or dependent on how you play them?

Best Answer

• Enslaved
    Enslaved
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭
    Dragonknight is a class that uses fire or poison damage, depending do you play it as magicka or stamina.
    It is best tanking class.
    Damage dealers that play DK are pretty much all melee.
    Dragonknights can also be healers, but perform rather poor in this role and cannot compete with templars and wardens.

Nightblades are more of a ganking stealth oriented class. Be it magicka or stamina, rogue style suits them best.
    They can tank and be solid in that role as well, but not as good as DK.
    Damage dealers can be both melee and ranged, no matter what resource you use to fuel your attacks.
    As healers, nightblades are slightly better than DKs, but still not very good at this role, imho.

When it comes down to PvP, both classes have their ups and downs.
    Magicka DK is fire breathing monster that can hold its ground and use ton of dots to beat their enemies. It has dragon wings that reflect enemy projectiles, fire whips that are also healing you if conditions are met, leap that will grant you huge damage shield while knocking down enemies and dealing massive fire damage to them. mDK has a lot of stuns and snares and it is very satisfying to play for some ppl. What DK do not have is execute and it is the thing entire class lacks the most. Also, it has rather clunky gap closer and overall it is pretty slow.