The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Best Place to Start Catching up on Lore

aphroditex2014
aphroditex2014
Soul Shriven
Hi everyone. I'm somewhat new to ESO. I love the game, but I would like to know the Lore behind everything. Where should I start and where is the best place to go? I would like to learn more about the story before committing to a subscription, and so far, everything really interests me. I started playing when the Thieves Guild came out but had to stop due to medical reasons. Now I have returned and so much has happened. I'm a bit overwhelmed. Can someone point me the way?

Thank you. I appreciate it.
  • elias.stormneb18_ESO
    The best place to start would be the UESP, if you don't mind reading. There are also a number of Elder Scrolls lore Youtube series, but take what's said in them with a grain of salt, as they often contain misinformation, misconceptions and subjective statements.
  • uGGo7
    uGGo7
    Great place to start is just read every in-game book you come across! Those are the best source for lore. You can also find books from previous games in The Imperial Library

Another great place to start is UESP where you can just search and read the lore on specific topic

If you enjoy traditional reading more, there are 2 book collection of TESO lorebooks called "Tales of Tamriel" that are just in-game lorebooks in physical form paired with great art work! There are also 3 book collection for ones from TES V called "Skyrim libraries"