The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

A question regarding ESO youtube videos and copyright claims

Voxicity
Voxicity
✭✭✭✭✭
✭✭✭✭✭
So recently a youtube video which ZOS didn't want to be seen got hit with a copyright claim by Bethesda and is no longer available. I'm not a lawyer and I haven't got that much experience with copyright and fair use, but does this mean if I create a youtube video showing how to do something in game (like a tutorial which isn't very transformative as 'content') I could be hit with a copyright claim also?

Not gonna say what the video was but it did have what you might consider bad intentions, in terms of following the ToS. Does the fact that it intended to show how to do something against the ToS make it more illegal in terms of it's violation of copyright?

Cheers
  • Digielf
    Digielf
    ✭✭✭
    It's really hard for a gameplay video to get striked on youtube, it only happens in some extreme cases like with Nintendo and Atlus taking down videos that spoil plot of Pokemon/Persona games, if Zenimax did a strike for an ESO vid it must have been something that bothers them a lot
    Options
  • Voxicity
    Voxicity
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Elfezen wrote: »
    It's really hard for a gameplay video to get striked on youtube, it only happens in some extreme cases like with Nintendo and Atlus taking down videos that spoil plot of Pokemon/Persona games, if Zenimax did a strike for an ESO vid it must have been something that bothers them a lot