The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Professional Opinions on ZOS Infrastructure

Opticon
Opticon
✭✭✭
First off -- This is not an entitlement thread, this is not a ZOS is horrible thread or an I want a refund thread... this is (hopefully) a constructive dialogue thread. Even saying that, I'm know sure how constructive even I will be, but it's gotten to that point. I do not wish this to be a pure hate thread though, rather a professional opionins thread, but of course anyone is more than welcome to chime in.

Fingers crossed though that this doesn't go too far south before at least 10 replies.

I want to make clear that, 9/10 times, I side on ZOS on server/network/dev issues in this forum, with a good educated reason.

I have been a Systems Engineer, professionally, for 17 years. I have managed tens - hundreds of thousands of servers in many industries... financial, commercial, semiconductor, social, etc.... but not online gaming. Uptime is critical in any industry that I've worked in, be it for in-house services or externally-facing services. Being in this profession for so long has also made me privy to the goings-on of related fields such as development, networking, and security.

Periodic unplanned downtime to fix code-related bugs, like yesterdays for example, are to be expected and should even praised when a game-breaking flaw has been found. This thread has zero to do with instances like that. Could tonight's downtime be another example of this? Unfortunately we will most likely never know, but this thread is absolutely NOT just about tonight.... it's just the proverbial straw. On that note.... NO they should not release the technical details of the huge bug yesterday or any bug.