Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

Graduating from total noob to mostly noob

pj4533
pj4533
✭✭
I started playing eso about a month ago or so, and I feel like I have a good feel for the basics of the game now, but I am having trouble adapting a bit more strategy in my game play. I feel like I am missing something.

Some specifics to help frame my preferred style: i like to play solo, focusing on questing content, going slow, enjoying everything. I'll want to do all the quest content before attempting any endgame PVE, and I avoid PVP completely.

My character is a mag sorc with all light armor and a lightning staff. My 'rotation' (if it can even be called that) is to hit power surge (i have magelight slotted), then if facing multiple enemies switch to lightning form, and start mashing force pulse, with the occasional crystal frags (when it procs). Sometimes I'll do some heavy attacks to build up overload ultimate for when I face a boss, but I rarely use it, usually just sits at 500.

I guess it speaks to the easy difficulty level of questing content that the above "strategy" mostly works for all mobs. Even if it takes a bit of time in each fight.

So, I know I need to "get good", but how? I am thinking of several things, but I couldn't really find much online help....most guides are geared toward very specific builds for endgame content, that don't really apply to me.

Ideas I have to improve:

* focus on getting comfortable switching bars (don't really do that now) -- adding liquid lightning or shields? It's tough when i can just mash a bit more, and mobs die.
* adding more light attacks -- I've seen videos on animation canceling/weaving, but I don't really get it
* adding more heavy attacks -- ?
* use my ultimate more -- maybe switch to a different ultimate?