Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts

Leveling blacksmith, is taking me forever

NexusRoy
NexusRoy
Soul Shriven
I've been into blacksmithing since I started playing ESO (like 10 days ago) and, so far, I've only reached Blacksmith lvl 7. I always craft something everyday and do my writ in Vulkhel Guard, but I barely get a 25% bar experience.

I also have refined hundreds of armors, weapons, and back to craft until I run out of materials, but the time and the effort is not paying off.

Am I doing something wrong? Do I have to move to other areas to get more rewarding tradeskills quests or something?

Thanks
  • BlackSparrow
    BlackSparrow
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    First blacksmith is slow. That's pretty normal.

However, one tip since you didn't mention it: Deconstruct everything. If you find a weapon or piece of armor that you're not going to wear at that exact moment, decon it instead of selling it. You gain levels a lot faster by deconing than by creating, just because of the sheer amount of stuff there is to decon.
    Edited by BlackSparrow on February 20, 2017 3:26PM
    Living vicariously through my characters.

My Girls:
    "If you were trapped in your house for, say, a year, how would you pass the time?"

Nephikah the Houseless, dunmer assassin: "I suppose I could use the break. I have a lot of business holdings now that need management."
    Swum-Many-Waters, elderly argonian healer: "I think that I would enjoy writing a memoir."
    Silh'ki, khajiit warrior-chef: "Would this one be able to go outside, to the nearby river? It's hard to fish without water!"
    Peregrine Huntress, bosmer hunter: "Who is forcing me to stay inside, and where can I find them?"
    Lorenyawe, altmer mechanist: "And why would I want to go outside in the first place? Too much to be done in the workshop."