Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

New ESO Player Here - Came from SWTOR

Solarsaenz
Solarsaenz
Soul Shriven
As the title says, I'm new to ESO. The only MMO I have significant experience with is SWTOR, which I played (had a subscription) from the Spring of 2012 until I cancelled early last month (If you've played SWTOR recently, then you understand why I left SWTOR). I bought the ESO digital game gold edition this weekend. I started a High Elf Templar, and I am only like level 6 right now.
Did I make a good choice coming to this game? I installed and played like 10 minute of Black Desert Online, but I just didn't feel like it was for me, the same with FFXIV.
So far, I like what I am seeing in ESO; I am really glad I can just make a 1 time purchase for the game and keep playing it and buy when I choose to expansions/DLCs.

I could really use some help in really getting into this game.
Supposedly, I have a mount, but I don't know how to access/use it.
Is there a minimap I can put in my UI instead of having to press m for the big map every few minutes to make sure I'm going in the right direction?
How can I buy a stronghold/house?

If you're a SWTOR veteran too, please let me know how you feel ESO compares to SWTOR, particularly in regards to crafting, gearing, and end game content. I know I still have a long way to go before reaching max level. However, one of my gripes with SWTOR was stale end game content (there haven't been new raids/operations, daily missions/area, flashpoints/dungeons in SWTOR for like over 2 years). Does ESO regularly release new end game contents and truly expand on the game instead of reinventing the wheel like SWTOR does?

Even if you're not a SWTOR veteran, feel free to chime in on what you think about the things I mentioned.