Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

At what point should I allocate skill points?

paulmapp8306
To crafting obviously.

Im still fairly new to this game, and am only at level 26. I have, in all honesty, most of my spells and passive levelled up/allocated to where I want them for now. There are a couple of higher level spells I want but Im not at a high enough level to get them yet. There are also a couple of passives I want - but there only minor IMO (1% spell reduction cost for instance - useful later on I guess).

Up until now I have not allocated any skill points to crafting. Should I have done this earlier, should I be waiting until I level up more, or is now the right time. when I do start, do I spread the points, and level up those I want (for my armour choice, weapon choice and enchantments), or should I concentrate on one. Im guessing if its one, I should choose armour, as that benefits several pieces I can craft v one or two with weapons. Do I need to invest in a hireling early on, or level up abilities first.

Lots of questions, but Ive never really got into crafting/brewing/spell creation on any RPG Ive played. I this ever evolving world though, Im guessing Id save loads in the long run by crafting my own pieces.

Part of me thinks I should have started earlier, as until I can craft the level of gear I need (or one higher to stay ahead of the curve) its kind of pointless - but early on there is that pressure to get, and level, the spells and abilities you need to fight.
  • Easily_Lost
    Easily_Lost
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I try to level my crafting skills to keep pace with my character level. I craft all my own Armour & Weapons. As far as Provisioning, Alchemy, and Enchanting; I also try yo keep up with my Character Level.