Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

New To This Game And Crafting. I Have some Questions.

Gingivitis
Hi :)

So I am new to ESO... the game is quite different than what I am used to.
Just a few questions for now.

First: How many professions can you have in this game (do they even call them professions in ESOTU?).

Second: How do you go about getting mats? Since there's no global auction house in this game it looks like I won't be able to buy them (if the need arises) so I have to get them from somewhere. Thus far (I'm level 6 at the moment) I've harvested around 10 pieces of wood/timber and a few pieces of iron, but have no idea how to go about harvesting cloth. How do I get cloth (from drops, or do they have skinning in this game?). Are their different types of cloth in this game? I'm a squishy (Sorc) and at the moment I am using medium armor but would like to craft some light pieces of armor and need to know how I go about doing that.

How do I go about getting recipes?

I came across a quest in Daggerfall which asked that I select one of two different NPCS for crafting writs (?) or something like that. I am only able to select one NPC or the other and I didn't commit to anything (I think it said something about dailies) because I have no idea what that's all about (yet) and didn't want to get stuck with something that I don't like or can't use. What are writs, and what is that quest all about?

I have a lot of other questions, but that will be all for now.

PS.

I am new to this game so please remember that I probably won't understand what you are saying if you use a lot of game terminology.
Please keep your answers simple and not too complicated, so that I will better understand what you are saying.

Thank you in advance for your response.