The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• [IN PROGRESS] PC/Mac: NA megaserver for maintenance – April 25, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 2:00PM EDT (18:00 UTC)
https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/comment/8098811/#Comment_8098811

Is it worth to buy food recipe from NPC?

fatemoe
fatemoe
I have never done food writ before because it's too difficult to find recipe.
Now NPC offers all the recipe needed to do food writ.
Is it really worth it to buy 1000g just to finish writ?
  • NBrookus
    NBrookus
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭
    If you are leveling provisioning, the extra inspiration from writs is helpful. The writs at every level repeat the same 6 recipes over and over, so it's not an expense for a single writ. You also get gold, recipes and ingredients when you turn in a writ.

I did not realize the NPC prices were so high... a lot of writ recipes sell for 30-100g in guild stores. Some recipes have been notoriously hard to find, and they can be priced much higher.

Your third option is to have another player craft the food for you. You can turn in food someone else has made. If you are leveling, 20 of whatever you are missing should be plenty.
  • fatemoe
    fatemoe
    I'm 50 level provision now.

So far I have only purchased + max HP recipe for my own use.

I need to calculate if it is worth to spend 5000g to do repeat writ everyday.
  • NBrookus
    NBrookus
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭
    If you are doing max level provisioning writs, the writs reward drop the exact same recipes over and over, so frequently that I vendor trash them since no one buys them in guild stores even for 30g. You are not likely to need to buy all of them, certainly not at 1000g each. And they pay ~600g per writ. So yes, they will pay for themselves.
  • Nestor
    Nestor
    ✭✭✭✭✭