The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 29:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – April 29

FPS drop (And stuttery graphics) in Devon's watch area

AtmaDarkwolf
AtmaDarkwolf
✭✭✭
Weird 'stutter' effect, as if I had an older gpu under pressure, only seems to happen when 'lava' is ahead of me(even if blocked by environment)

GPU when monitored (on 2nd monitor) shows no extra strain, IE: its not working harder (And if so it definatly should NOT be getting bogged down by TESO lol) and as far as CPU and ram is concerned its showing no additional activity.

Someone mentioned that there is a graphics setting which, when enabled/disabled fixes this (Right now everything is enabled at max settings, and up to this point, all though both DC and AD areas, I have no experienced this anywhere)

PC is i7 4790k, dual 980ti, 32gig ram (Win 8.1)
  • Seravi
    Seravi
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Are you running ESO as SLI or single GPU? Your post sounded like you are just using one card. I run two GTX970's SLI. I had that stutter on the new system until I changed the following in the usersettings.txt file:

SET GPUSmoothingFrames "0" (This should be 0 instead of 10)

Changed both of these from "-2" to "0"

SET RequestedNumJobThreads "0"
    SET RequestedNumWorkerThreads "0"

My NVIDIA settings are few but do make a difference if you are running SLI:

SLI rendering mode set to NVIDIA Recommended
    Power management mode set to Adaptive
    Vertical sync set to Adaptive. Make sure Vsync is off in ESO.

I use msi Afterburner to monitor both cards. I am running ESO full tilt, Ultra with all other graphic settings maxed. Just put this system online two weeks ago. I had horrible stutters starting out and after a ton of research and testing the above settings made the game work like a champ. :) Hope it helps.