The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Sell Me On Cloth Armor Please?

venkelos
venkelos
Soul Shriven
So, I am still rather new to this game (poking around Grahtwood at lvl 13), having played a lot of Skyrim, and trying to draw parallels here. One thing I want, as a Sorcerer, is to be able to wear robes, the light armor my Clothing skill lets me make, but I don't see how. Either armor value doesn't really matter, and then I don't know why the fighter-types wear plate, or it really DOES, and the Cloth stuff I could make for when I'm at the far end of flax, which I'm nowhere near leveled for, is still worse than the under-leveled rewards I'm wearing right now. How do I justify wearing robes, like a mage would, if I'm already being killed, occasionally, wearing assorted Medium armor? It sort of feels like Skyrim, where the 0 Armor robes could be a death sentence. I'm liking my spells plenty, even without any fire spells, or ice, and getting decent with my staves, but this armor issue is, well, an issue for me. I don't have any Champion points, or whatever, as this is still my first toon, so I'm sort of on my own for figuring my gear up. I'm also not entirely looking to play a battlemage, wearing plate, and sort of understand that that is better for stamina-gain, where cloth is supposed to be good for mana gain. Thing is, other than summoning, I don't run out of man much, but health, so I'm hoping someone more in the know than I am can please assist me? Thanks much, and have a great one.
  • predkill29
    predkill29
    ✭✭
    the point of light armor is the skills, go to skills and look at light armor its good for mages. A good setup is 5 light 2 heavy, the 5 light so you get the skill bonus and the heavy for extra survivability.
    -Daggerfall Covenant Xbox NA-