Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Console players, if I built a set of mobile and web apps to replace zone chat would you use it?

krathos
krathos
✭✭✭✭✭
Reddit thread.

I switched from PC to console and really miss chat. I often turn off area voice because of people blasting music, yelling, babies crying, etc so I feel detached from the community.

My day job is a software engineer that builds real time communication apps.

The question I have for you all is if I built a series of apps (web, android, iOS, and WP8) would you use them?

The basics are this:

You would create an account and join Xbox or PS4 NA/EU. Then there would be channels for each faction on general chat, lfg, trade, one for each campaign, etc. I would like to also allow users to create their own private channels for DMs, Guilds, Groups, zones, etc.

I am trying gauge interest and if there's enough interest I will likely build this.
Flapjack Palmdale
<ANIMOSITY>

Grand Overlord - Magicka Dragonknight
  • yodased
    yodased
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I mean honestly if you are going to do this then just have an IRC client with its own eso server and get it done in a few hours instead of reinventing the wheel.

Beyond that though, I highly doubt you will get most people behind this as it would require multiple devices to communicate through the game.

Ps4 you can already communicate using mobile just send the person a message on ps4.

Would be much better if you could make an app native on the ps4 that could overlay over eso, but that is just about impossible.
    Tl;dr really weigh the fun you have in game vs the business practices you are supporting.
  • krathos
    krathos
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    yodased wrote: »
    I mean honestly if you are going to do this then just have an IRC client with its own eso server and get it done in a few hours instead of reinventing the wheel.