The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

How does one get started writing Add-Ons

Sandmanninja
Sandmanninja
✭✭✭✭
I've been a programmer for years (VB, VC, VC++, C#,Javascript, VBScript) and I'd love to try my hand at writing add-ons for ESO.

Is there a Dev Kit I can download? PDF with explanations of the calls, syntax, examples?

Thanks in advance
[Hard Mode Dungeoneers] is recruiting all players of all levels for this new Guild.
THIS IS A NEW-BUT-GROWING GUILD. We are focused on doing vet pledges, vet dungeons, getting achieves, & doing hard mode bosses.
Most active GMT+10 (Australia time zone) in the afternoon Mon-Fri and all day Sat/Sun.
Pst/email for info/invites.
  • Ayantir
    Ayantir
    ✭✭✭✭
    Obsessive Compulsive Elder Scrolls addons Coder
    A Few millions downloads of ESO addons now.
    Master crafter on my main char since release. All tradeskills, recipes \o/, researchs (since long), 35 styles known
    My little french Guild: Cercle de l'Eveil
  • Sacadon
    Sacadon
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    No dev kit and the api is in the wiki posted previously. Tons of examples out there. Take some time to get a LUA IDE setup and it's easier but not required
    Edited by Sacadon on April 30, 2015 9:57AM
  • Deome
    Deome
    ✭✭✭
    I've written all my addons in Notepad++. https://notepad-plus-plus.org
    I love it.

Start taking apart other people's addons. Even mine. Especially mine, I comment everything. Figure out how they work. Reference LUA occasionally, but the API itself is such a massive thing that it's really a language unto itself.

Learn to use the libraries available on ESOUI. LibAddonMenu-2.0 and Libstub are essential.

Read through the developer forums on ESOUI. That's where we go when we get stuck, there's a lot explained there.