The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Newbie Q on classes, armor type, etc in PvE (leveling & questing)

Kamatsu
Kamatsu
✭✭✭✭
Hi,

I'm new to the game and have read quite a few threads, but still have some questions that I was hoping I could get some help with. Some notes:

- This is for PvE solo leveling & question, not really interested atm in PvP (solo PvE as that is mainly what I'll be doing, at least for now)
- I do not have imperial race or any-race-any-faction upgrades.

Q1 - How well can non-sorcer's do in light armor?

I'm asking because I was considering doing a magicka based Templar in Light armor, yet it seems everyone push's heavy armor. Sorcer's can get away with light armor as they have a pet that can tank for them I believe, yet other classes don't have that option/luxury... so will have to either kite or be able to face-tank mobs themselves.

Q2 - If you do go light or medium armor, can you do it without having the chest & leg armor as heavy?

I understand that heavy armor obviously has the highest AC (Armor Class) and thus DR (Damage Resistance), but it also has a certain look... and if I want to do a magic char, to me that means a light armor look & not heavy armor look. So I know min/max would say chest & pants as heavy and rest light... but that's not a look I'd like. So with this in mind, wondering how I'd go with light or medium armor in chest & legs and have others elsewhere... so I get the look I like while leveling all armor types as I play.

Q3 - Going as a magicka class based build, do I have to use a staff, or can I use anything?