The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

New to MMO's

madMARTYNmarsh
madMARTYNmarsh
Soul Shriven
Hi all,

I'm new to MMO's, never played one. In fact I am new to pc gaming, I have played Skyrim and Oblivion which is why I purchased ESO but I played those games on xbox.
I now find myself completely lost when I attempt to play ESO, all the buttons make my brain boil in my skull. Is there anything I can do to make my life easier? Could I use my xbox 360/xbox one controller to play ESO?

Is there a place I can go to find general tips on playing ESO as just reading through these forums throws up a lot of differences to say skyrim that I wasn't prepared for.

How does the game time work? I have 80 something days, will it go down day by day or will days only count if I login to the game? I don't want my days to be used up if I'm not playing the game.

Any other general advice anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated.
  • drkeys143
    drkeys143
    ✭✭✭
    I play everything on PC, although I am not a great fan of WASD mashing on the keyboard. I use a Razer Nostromo Gaming Keypad, it has mappable keys and also has a D-Pad on the side for added ease of movement.

I map the walk/run keys to buttons on the pad, and also all the skills 1-5 and Ultimate, in fact most of the keybinds in the game are mapped to a button on the pad, does make things a lot easier, although some die hard gamers may sneer at it, i dont care :) At the end of the day, it is still pressing buttons to achieve the result, just that the buttons feel more under my fingers than a PC keyboard.

You could try something like that?
  • Cabot
    Cabot
    ✭✭✭
    You subscription will go down daily, (real time, not game time). So, in 80 something days, your subscription will be renewed or you can cancel.