Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts

Leveling new weapons

Jastl
Jastl
I don't understand something. It looks like I gain experience with weapons or armor as I kill things. But only if the opponent is at my level or above -- don't seem to gain even a small amount when a threshold is reached. So, what if I want to gain a new weapon that I've never used before much later? Like if I face a creature at level 30 with a level 0 sword. I've tried that at my lower level now (10) and die a lot.
  • pysgod1978b14_ESO
    Try it on lower enemies and see if it works. Or get a better weapon.
  • scabrous_ftz
    scabrous_ftz
    ✭✭
    The better approach to level the new weapon quickly is to switch to the level 0 sword before turning in quests. You will get a bigger boosts in weapon progression than via mobs.
  • slander36
    slander36
    ✭✭✭
    Equipping before quest turn in is a great way, true. You also get XP for just exploring, reading books, unlocking chests, etc. I would suggest crafting a weapon as close to your level as possible and just running around the world with it. Put at least 1 skill point into it so you level it up faster (and have some actual damage output). Most weapons seem viable after the second skill or so, assuming you put enough skill points into your class.
  • Darrett
    Darrett
    ✭✭✭✭
    If you have a skill in a weapon line, and it's on your bar, you gain XP to that skill and the weapon associated with it no matter what weapon you are using.

For instance, I use a 2H for random PvE, but have Regeneration (Restoration Staff) and Poison Arrow (Bow) on my bar. I'm gaining skill in all three weapons at the same time.
  • Miths
    Miths
    Darrett wrote: »
    If you have a skill in a weapon line, and it's on your bar, you gain XP to that skill and the weapon associated with it no matter what weapon you are using.