The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• PC/Mac: NA megaserver for maintenance – April 25, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 2:00PM EDT (18:00 UTC)
https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/comment/8098811/#Comment_8098811

At what level do you really start putting effort into builds and/or weapon choices?

ReachDaBeach
I am new to ESO but have played some other rpgs with somewhat similar build mechanics, though ESO's seem a a bit more complex. I am lv 17 High Elf Templar right now, and so far I have mostly been using found items when they look to be upgrades and bought a few things when I browse before repairs and see a significant upgrade available for something I am about to repair. I went out and looked at the UESP build editor and it looks like from the submitted builds that lv 50 is when people start putting them up there.
I am mostly using the recommendations and kind of stumbling along. been using the 2 handed great swords the most but really need to swap out more to get a feel for what seems to work best for me. It's not the bow; I like the javelin spell as my ranged weapon.
Serious learning curve in the game.
  • Aislinna
    Aislinna
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Character level 50 with 160 Champion Points (CP) is the max gear level, so until that point you will constantly be upgrading your gear. Most builds you see online are designed for max level gear. Up to level 50, the game scales to your level, letting you experiment with weapon and build types. I recommend just have fun trying different things until you get to level 50 and at that point you'll have a better idea of the play style/build type you'll enjoy; then dig more into learning and making a good build and I'm sure you'll make several more builds after that as you grow and meta's change. :smiley: