The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Trying to run on Linux for the first time

Kozato
Kozato
✭✭✭
So I've jumped to linux (Pop OS) and I forgot something important. Even though ESO apparently works through steam with proton... I don't have the steam version of the game. I have the standalone type. I tried using wine and installed the game there, but the furthest that would let me is opening the launcher, downloading the game, but the play button would break when clicking.

So what I'm hoping to learn is either how to get wine to run ESO (I'm new to this) or simply moving my game to the steam version. If I have to redeem a key or something that's fine. I feel if I can get my account on to steam then it'll be a lot easier to make thee game run than trying to get the standalone version running.

If anyone knows about this stuff, could you let me know which option here is better, and how to tackle it?
  • etchedpixels
    etchedpixels
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    The standalone version also works but you do need to have a very very recent proton or equivalent wine fork to work around what appears to be an anti-cheat incompatibility with the latest update. Generic wine won't currently cut it.

Not sure you need to go get the steam version of ESO - steam should allow you to import existing non steam games and then run them through proton. I've not tried this with ESO however.
    Too many toons not enough time
  • ZOS_Bill
    ZOS_Bill
    admin
    The FAQ below goes over playing ESO on Linux.

Will there ever be a Linux version?
    The Elder Scrolls Online: Tamriel Unlimited - ZeniMax Online Studios
    Forum Rules | Code of Conduct | Terms of Service | Home Page | Help Site
    Staff Post
  • etchedpixels
    etchedpixels
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    @ZOS_BillE You might want to update that FAQ for two things