Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Does it make me a bad player if I only tank dungeons, because I know I'm not very good at DD?

• wsmith97ub17_ESO
    wsmith97ub17_ESO
    ✭✭✭
    Oh boy, you are fine doing what you wish.

The above counts as your comfort seeking approbation.
    It is the mind, that is the mind, confusing the mind. Do not leave the mind, oh mind, to the mind.
  • Slothylicious
    Slothylicious
    ✭✭
    Raisin wrote: »
    As others have said, no, definitely not. You don't have to be a master of all. If you're a good tank, and you play tank, you're a good player. You don't need to be theoretically good at something you're not actively playing to somehow get you MMO street cred.

I WILL say however, that at least getting reasonable experience in all roles will help you become better at your chosen role. You don't have to be good at them in the end, just gain some details on the perspectives you wouldn't even usually think to ask, and you will end up synergizing on a completely different level with your groups.
    It's not a must, like nothing in the game is (just wanna make clear you don't have to torture yourself haha), but I do think it's worth it and I've definitely met my fair share of players where you could tell that that kind of experience was lacking and holding them back in comparison to others.

This is solid advice.

Also, NB is a good choice for a tank. Very strong self healing. With silver bolts existing and DK's engulfing flames being close to useless for a tank, any class can tank.
    Edited by Slothylicious on February 27, 2020 6:55PM
  • dazee
    dazee
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    Tanks in this game are really awful to play compared to other MMOs I've played, so whoever is willing to suffer through it is appreciated as long as ZOS still requires us to have a tank for random pugs.