Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Which classes are viable as ranged DPS?

Wuggums47
Wuggums47
✭✭
Hi, I just started playing again recently after quite a few years away. I was wondering which classes are best for ranged DPS. I'm not the biggest fan of melee and prefer to keep my distance. I know that sorcerer is a good choice, but are there any other classes that do well from a distance?
  • Taleof2Cities
    Taleof2Cities
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Unless you're one of the few playing end game PvE or PvP content (or are chasing leaderboards), all classes are viable for ranged DPS, @Wuggums47.
  • KillsAllElves
    KillsAllElves
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Mag sorc
    Warden archer with those bird things can be real nasty with the right build.
    Edited by KillsAllElves on January 13, 2020 12:23AM
  • MerguezMan
    MerguezMan
    ✭✭✭✭
    @Wuggums47, it depends what kind of content you're going to, and what kind of build you expect:
    - there are good bow-bow builds. Most imply Sorcerer, Nightblade, Warden or Necromancer.
    - there are lots of ranged magicka builds for all classes

If you don't like contact at all, Nightblade is quite good at disappearing.
  • Grianasteri
    Grianasteri
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Wuggums47 wrote: »
    Hi, I just started playing again recently after quite a few years away. I was wondering which classes are best for ranged DPS. I'm not the biggest fan of melee and prefer to keep my distance. I know that sorcerer is a good choice, but are there any other classes that do well from a distance?

Pretty much all of them. It depends how you build the character. That said, depending on if you are a Magica or Stamina focused character, some classes can be easier or more efficient to use due to the class skills and passives they have.

For instance for Stamina, Wardens and Nightblades seem to fare well at range.
  • thadjarvis
    thadjarvis