Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – March 26, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• [COMPLETE] PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – March 26, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Low FPS with low GPU usage

Sulas
Sulas
Soul Shriven
Hello,

when i started playing about 3 weeks ago, i had a fresh Windows (10) installation with all latest drivers, but I'm getting average 50 FPS and the GPU usage is also at about 40-50%.
I checked the CPU usage, it's about 20-30% and one core is at about 80%, so there is now bottleneck.
Sometimes the frames drop to 15 FPS even in Buldings.

Is there anything i can do?

The PC is:
Windows 10 Pro latest build
Ryzen R7 1700 @ 3,7 GHz
AMD RX 480 8GB
16 GB DDR4 2400 RAM
  • Sulas
    Sulas
    Soul Shriven
    Resolution is 1080p
  • Alienoutlaw
    Alienoutlaw
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    GTX1070ti, and still have GPU issues so not just you
  • Nevasca
    Nevasca
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    This game is heavily reliant on RAM speed, that's definitly your bottleneck and almost people's bottleneck since this game really doesn't demand a powerful GPU.

Things you can try:

1. Leave reflections at low settings. On low, it uses your GPU instead of CPU, and by freeing your CPU you automatically use less RAM power.

2. OC your RAM memory clock.

Keep in mind that this game is not really well optimized so don't expect high FPS in intense situations (Cyrodil on prime-time / trials )
  • Alienoutlaw
    Alienoutlaw
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    This game is heavily reliant on RAM speed, that's definitly your bottleneck and almost people's bottleneck since this game really doesn't demand a powerful GPU.

Things you can try: