The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Newbie's perspective on combat mechanics

washbern
washbern
✭✭✭✭
Yeah, I am not a pro at this game. I am not someone who could even parse well on a dummy. And man oh man do I love the idea behind gearing and item sets.

That said, holy cow do I hate the actual combat. Dont get me wrong, I enjoy dungeon and raid mechanics. I enjoy the action feel of the game. But... the combat... the actual feel of almost every character... it's awful.

In different MMOs each type of character or build plays different. some are slower, some are faster, some make you keep track of buffs some make you keep track of pets and so on. In ESO, though the idea of keeping track of buffs is there every class and build play absolutely the gosh darn same.

First, the game doesnt really give a crap if you are ranged or not. You still have to get into melee if you want to optimize your build. (ie use wall of elements or sets like grothdar and zaan.

Then, it doesnt matter what class you play because every class plays skill, light attack, skill, light attack. They all play at same pace, with slightly different rotations.

As much as I have grown to dislike pvp over the course of last several years, at least that experience in ESO offers some kind of combo risk reward playstyle variety.

Sorry for the rant but was hoping see if anyone shared my opinion or could recommend something I have not tried.

Thanks for reading.
  • Taleof2Cities
    Taleof2Cities
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    How many different characters have you actually played, @washbern, to come to that conclusion? And what levels are they?

If you stick with it, I think you'll see the difference in playstyles ...
  • Red_Feather
    Red_Feather
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭