The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• [IN PROGRESS] Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• [IN PROGRESS] PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Confused about weapons

markthegreat56
Sorry folks, I'm new to gaming as well as ESO. I am confused about weapons. I have learned to equip weapons, and slot them, but so often my slotted weapons are not available, and I can't see the actual one I've chosen for say, two handed, etc. I've tried adding shields, but it becomes my main weapon, which is not my intention. I have made it to level 15 in spite of this deficit. But I want to have more control and understanding about my weapons.

Best Answers

• VaranisArano
    VaranisArano
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    So, I'm a little confused about your question, but I'll do my best to help.

To set a weapon as the weapon you are using, equip it or drag-n-drop it into the weapon slot on your character sheet from your inventory. Whatever weapon you have in that slot determines how you heavy/light attack and what skills you can use from your weapon skill lines. You can use your class skills with any weapon, but to use weapon skills you must have a weapon matching that type equipped and the weapon skill line unlocked (unlocked by killing any enemy with that weapon via light/heavy attacks).

The weapons are destruction staff (fire, lightning, ice), restoration staff, two-handed (maul, battleaxe, greatsword), bow, dual wield (any two of sword, mace, axe or dagger), and one hand and shield (sword, axe, mace, or dagger plus shield).