The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Magicka templar, nightblade, or sorcerer for "soloing the world"?

sutasafaia
So it's my first time back in about a year, game has changed a ton, looking for some ideas on what class to come back as.

For the record, I have nothing against grouping, but doing challenging content meant for groups as a solo character is kind of my hobby in MMO's. World bosses, dungeons, anything like that. That and crafting, and this game gives me a heart on for crafting.

My major concern is basically having near infinite sustain of health and resources, even if it means my damage suffers a bit in the process. Taking into account my info is over a year old, I seem to remember that a magicka focused templar was basically the best for this, but I have no idea how things work now in the new updates.

Now, that said, I have read a lot about pet sorcerers and magicka nightblades. The templar and blades seem to both have excellent means of sustain. Templar get tons of healing, nightblades apparently get several passive defensive buffs and can also regen magicka and stamina, useful for dodging and the like. Which would you consider better?

The whole pet sorc thing seems interesting but it also seems like it would be clunky and a pain to play well, especially since the pet only seems to ever tank only one enemy at a time leaving you with only a few skills and your ability to kite rather than having access to a full skill bar because of pets. Still, pet has a nice cheap heal and it can tank? Not sure.

Would love to get some ideas on this one.

Race, I would assume, still tends to lean towards Breton and Altmer for magicka? I know dunmer is also popular but thats a dps choice, not a sustain choice, and I'm always focused on sustain.
  • FriedEggSandwich
    FriedEggSandwich