Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

What is a good KD ratio?

Berenhir
Berenhir
✭✭✭✭✭
Hello everybody.
As everyone is ranting about how bad magsorc are and how superior all other classes, I really ask myself what people consider "bad". Over the last week I played my Bananasorc, following random groups in PvP. I am no expert at sorc and only played him like a week and a half now.

My KD ratio is usually at about 7 to 10, with 40% killing blows. Last session was 234 kills to 22 deaths with 111 killing blows during the end of campaign fights on TF EU.

I have only 370 cp, wear purple seducer and blue vicious death with golden staffs.

My Magblade is far worse, his kd ratio is at about 5 to 7 with only 20-25% killing blows.

My sorc is good when fighting 1 vs 1, my magblade is really bad in duels.

What is considered bad? Which KD ratios or Kill/Killing Blow ratio should be achieved to have a good class?
PC EU - Ebonheart Pact - Gray Host - Death Recap -#zergfarming -
  • Asmael
    Asmael
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    None, but because K/D ratio has no meaning.

I can make a gank build, take little risks, kill less but have an insanely "good" KDR.
    I can run in a 48 men zerg on a slightly tanky build to survive bombers, and have a preeeeeeetty good KDR.
    I can run solo / go open world and have a "meh" ratio, yet still kill 2 or 3 guys while outnumbered 1 to 10+.

Which one of the above ratios has the most meaning? None of them, because KDR bears no actual meaning. It doesn't say how you got your kills, it doesn't say anything about the people you fight nor the circumstances, it doesn't say how you choose your fights: for short, it's a shiny number on a side of your screen.

Just like DPS in a PvE environnement, it only bears meaning if you know which targets, which boss / fight, what buffs you had and what the group composition was at this time.