The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 15:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – April 16, 8:00AM EDT (12:00 UTC) - 6:00PM EDT (22:00 UTC)

New to ESO/mmo's in Genreal

youngdown1
youngdown1
Soul Shriven
I am new to ESO and MMO's in general. One thing I have noticed is when I enter a dungeon, other player will rush ahead and kill every thing. This goes for bosses at the end of quests as well. How is this fun? Is this typical? This takes away all immersion and fun for me. What is the point of doing anything if other players do it all for you? What am I missing here?

Thank You for any input.
  • Alabyn
    Alabyn
    ✭✭✭
    Typically one player "pulls" for the group, and then everyone contributes to attacking the mobs, or healing the players as they fight. Often, the "tank", a player geared and spec'd for defense does the pulling, two "dps" (damage per second) players contribute the bulk of the damage while the tank holds the mob's attention, and a "healer" keeps everyone on their feet. There are, of course, variations in this strategy.

Perhaps it is the tank that is rushing ahead and beginning the fight? As it stands now in many dungeons, the content is well known, and players burn through the mobs fairly quickly.

PS: if you're running the dungeon for the first time, let your group know that you will be doing the quests. That way they'll understand if you are delayed by reading and participatiyng in NPC chat.
    Edited by Alabyn on February 29, 2016 5:17AM
  • Elijah_Crow
    Elijah_Crow
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    The best way to experience the game is to join a guild or group with like minded players who want to experience the content at the same speed you do.