The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Question about internet speed and how long it takes to update things the size of ESO

BozzyTheDrummer
BozzyTheDrummer
✭✭✭✭
Hoping to get some insight, not sure if this is the right section to post this, so sorry if it is not.

Updating and installing games on my Xbox One X and PS4 take FOREVER (even on my regular Xbox One.)

For example, this mornings update of 11.92 GB on my One X for ESO. It starts updating, and about five minutes go by before it even gets to .01%. It the starts saying something along the lines of 7.5 mbs/second then 11.25 mbs/second (i think this is correct, I am not in at home to see if this is exactly what it says, and I am not very tech savvy in this manner.) Most of the time, with updates like this, I set my console to shut off after 4 hours, because the updates take that long. I have most recently had to set it to shut off after 5 hours of inactivity, because the updates now seem to be taking longer.

Same when installing a new game, takes 4-5 hours. Even on my PS$, games and updates take just as long. And the progress as the download goes on, is very slow.

My question, is what is causing this, and what can I do to make this faster?

Where I live (i'm not out in the country, but I am not in a city either) we only have two choices for Internet. AT&T, who we currently have, and some local company that is quite crap compared to AT&T. Now, I pay for the highest internet package that AT&T has to offer as others in my household work from home and we require the fastest internet they have. The problem is, even though we have the fastest internet AT&T has to offer us, it is still slow. We frequently have internet outages in our neighborhood with AT&T (not just us) and when the service techs come out, we are told the following: