The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Building a PC for ESO

Jorotarr
Jorotarr
✭✭
So I have decided to build a PC for Elder Scrolls Online, here's a link to the build on PC Part Picker.

This is my first time building a computer. I have only previously installed RAM and a video card on a store bought computer... about a decade ago. Primarily I am building this for ESO, as well as future MMOs such as Chronicles of Elyria and EQNext if it isn't vaporware. I would also like to go back and play past TES games, and past Dragon Age games since I loved Inquisition so much. I have a 6 month old touch screen laptop for all of my personal needs.

I started this build as a base from Lifehacker, and I have already read several building guides for those new to building their own computer. I want this to be future proof for at least 3 years or so, and while I want to run great settings with good FPS, I am not a number cruncher by any means. I may tinker with overclocking one day, but not initially after building this PC. I am debating using my 42" smart tv I got last year with a 60hz refresh, or setting up a monitor and speakers in my study room on the desk. I am trying to stay in around $1,500.

Does this look like a solid build before I order everything? Is there any advice, or anything I need to know before fulfilling a childhood dream of building my own gaming system? Are there any special tools or screwdrivers I need? Do the parts come with screws? Will I need something besides a HDMI cable if I use a monitor instead of my TV? Should I have a CPU cooler or sound card? Are there any recommended tutorials or guides you would suggest?

Thanks for any and all help! :)
  • Valen_Byte
    Valen_Byte
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭