Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [IN PROGRESS] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Astronomical prices for the Akaviri motif

code65536
code65536
✭✭✭✭✭
✭✭✭✭✭
500K AP for chest, head, swords, staves, shields
250K AP for most of the others
100K AP for belt, dagger and one or two others
50K AP for the style material (5K per scrap, 10 scraps needed)

We're looking at millions of AP needed to craft this style. If I took my all the AP that I've earned since I started playing this spring (and assuming that I hadn't already spent most of that AP, which is a poor assumption; those wall repairs are expensive), I could buy only 3 of the large chapters, and of all my friends, I'm the one who PvPs the most.

On NA/PC, before the IC update, people were paying around 100K gold for a VR14 Cyrodiil's Light ring, and those cost only 248K AP. Using that price extrapolation, we'll be looking at the big chapters being worth over 200K gold--assuming the same AP gold value, which is a bad assumption (it'll likely cost even more than that, since this is now the biggest AP sink in the game).

First, the prices are just downright ridiculous. Did you guys accidentally add an extra 0 to all the prices? Because that's what it looks like here. This is going to make Akaviri far harder to acquire than even Glass.

Second, back when people were trying to save up their AP for gear, there would be instances when people were reluctant to repair walls or buy siege because they wanted to save up their AP. With such sky-high prices (that essentially places even the cheap chapters out of reach of most PvEers and the full motif out of reach of all but the most dedicated PvPers), this is going to rekindle that problem and make it even worse.

Instead of using a style motif as an AP sink, why not update the gear that's available using AP? Ravager is still VR14...
Edited by code65536 on October 6, 2015 8:13PM