The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

5L/2H or 7L for magicka nightblade (and other questions)

tinythinker
tinythinker
✭✭✭✭✭
✭✭✭✭✭
I've seen many interesting post-1.6 builds for magicka nightblades, but I am new to the class as a whole and suggestions are very welcome. At the moment I am wondering whether the extra spell pen for 7L is worth more than the increased protection of 2H? Is it about even in trade-off? I can solo public dungeons and dolmens at my VR with my PvE bars, but so far I don't seem to do much damage in PvP at VR7. I have 5L Seducer for regen and Torug's Pact for a bit more spell damage. Will try to add two rings of Cyrodiil's Light for a bit more damage.

With blue food I am at 22,372 magicka (using all points in magicka and infused on armor), spell damage 1136, spell crit 38%, 30 points in Spell Erosion (ignore 10.8% of spell resistance) and 20 in Thaumaturge (increase magic damage by 8.4%).

With same food, here are examples of tool-tip damage (not all are currently slotted for PvP bars):

Crushing Shock: 978 cold, fire, and shock damage
Concealed Weapon: 3513
Impale: 1757 (base/non-scaled)
Swallow Soul: 3257
Crippling Grasp: 1056 initial/5980 over 8 seconds*

Is this good enough to be competitive? I am sure I need to "L2P" as I have already said I am just now learning this class in PvP, I just want to make sure I am not handicapping myself with insufficiently strong attacks. I mean, not everyone has nirnhoned armor, right?

(*No visible buffs, but my values keep shifting. Grasp has shown both 6200 and 6300 over the last 30 minutes or so.)

Edited by tinythinker on May 10, 2015 1:39PM
Experienced, new, returner? Help keep ESO's community strong ᕙ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ᕗ -- share what you love about the game, offer constructive feedback, and make friends.ʕ·ᴥ·ʔ