The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

[1.6] Sorcerer Tank[Or Tanky DPS] Build Help

Mikoto
Mikoto
✭✭✭
Hello Sorc players!

I'm trying to come up with a viable tank build for my sorc that will work for 1.6. I'm new to tanking in ESO but not new to it in general so I want to try to take the plunge with a class that many seem to put down as well as I always enjoyed playing the spellsword/battlemage type character in the TES games. Below are some things I have my mind set on -
  • Magicka Based
  • Imperial Race
  • Secondary Weapon can be anything but I heard Destro is best for magicka builds as a fallback
  • Heavy/Light Mixture

I currently do all kinds of content from PvE and PvP so any help making a build that can swap a full skills before jumping in Cyrodiil to make it viable would be fine with me. If it's also better to make it more DPS [with survivalbility] then I'm also fine with that as well. If one can also detail out why certain skills work with another when explaining it would be a godsend because I'm trying to learn more about the system in itself so I can theorycraft some builds in the future once I get better with it.
  • Mikoto
    Mikoto
    ✭✭✭
    Have anyone had any luck with getting a viable magicka tank or it's impossible?
  • Hutuldur
    Hutuldur
    ✭✭
    It works. It won't be the tankiest tank, but it can do some fun stuff other tanks can't.

Armor 5+2 or 5+1+1 (5 heavy), sword+shield. That's basics of all tanks, not just sorcs. Mixing gives undaunted passive bonus.

Good things that sorc can do that others can't:
    - Extra damage shield.
    - Cheap ultimates.
    - Pets (dps while you tank)
    - Streak (gives breathing break in tight spots).
    - Finisher (endless fury). Only NB and sorc tanks have finishers. Nice to be able to help on final moments of bosses.